Trish Stratus, how I love thee…

All of my real, true, friends and relatives know that I love, adore and cherish…..Trish Stratus. If you are my friend, and don’t know that by now, or even if you are my Facebook friend and don’t know it…I’m very disappointed in you.

Trish Stratus, 7x WWE Womens Champion

Trish Stratus is one of my all time favorite wrestlers ever! I have a few more, but this post is only dedicated to the one and only Trish Stratus. I’m going to give you a little inside history about why I love her so much, her work, and my dreams of meeting her one day.

First, let me give you a little background on my Hero Trish Stratus….

Born, Patricia Anne Stratigias, but best know by her ring name, Trish Stratus made her debut into WWE (Then WWF) on March 19, 2000 on and episode of Sunday Night Heat, scouting Test and Albert, in their separate matches. She then went to form T & A with both WWF/E superstars. Stratus then went on to win her first WWF/E Women’s Championship in a Six-pack-challenge at Survivor Series.  In 2003, Stratus entered a romantic interest with superstar Chris Jericho, however after hearing about a bet placed between Christian and Jericho, Stratus and Lita (who was also involved in the storyline) took action against both men. However, The storyline took a major twist when, at Wrestlemania XX, Stratus slapped Jericho and kissed Christian, who was against Trish and Jericho’s relationship. In 2006, after a six and a half year run, stratus retired from WWE as a seven-time women’s champion! Making history as the first ever seven time WWE Women’s champion.  There’s more to her story, but you’ll just have to catch up with her, she’s doing so much more. She opened her own yoga studio, got married to her high school sweetheart, and even has a movie and a game in development.

Trish and Lita had one of the most greatest feuds in the WWE!

Sometime in November of 2002, my cousin, Brandon, and I were discussing the legitimacy of the wrestlers on the cover of “WWE SmackDown! Shut Your Mouth”, and for some odd reason, he didn’t believe that they– the wrestlers– weren’t real, living, people. Puzzled by his suggestion that the guys on the cover of the video game box weren’t real, I told him yes they were and turned to a channel– I think Spike TV at the time– where they were showing something about The Rock. He and I were both new to wrestling at the time, and for some strange reason, I happen to flip to a channel where wrestling was on? coincidence maybe?

WWE SmackDown! Shut Your Mouth had one of the largest selection of people from both Raw and SmackDown, respectively. We were pretty new to wrestling, and this video game solidified our love for WWE programming then on. Scrolling through the in-game roster, I came across a very peculiar woman, I remember her stunning sultry face and blond hair– a permanent stamp on my heart since*. A pretty face shouldn’t automatically attract me to  someone, because I know now that Trish Stratus isn’t just another pretty face!

Intrigued by what I saw (simply on looks at this point) I wanted to see what she was made of, what was so special about this woman. I had to know more, with that, I tuned into Monday Night Raw. Trish Stratus was then the World Federation Women’s Champion (In 2002), and the title fit her like a glove. I was already impressed! Trish Stratus always impressed me, never have I lost my excitement for her– even after her retirement–I am still a loyal fan of her.

Not just another pretty face, she can really deliver some Stratusfaction!

I would have to say the first real feud I remember with Trish was between her and Victoria. Victoria was the psycho chick, who wanted to destroy Trish Stratus as all cost. My favorite math between them is the Chicago Street Fight.

Even though Trish lost, with the help of Steven Richards, this is on my list as one of my top 5 matches. Then, after the match, I was introduced to someone I didn’t know well…Jazz! Former WWE Womens Champion, Jazz, has to be one of my favorite Trish feuds, along with the Trish and Lita feud which lasted to her retirement in 2006. Jazz and Trish really had some heated matches, and I loved it. These kinds of matches grabbed my attention and made me show respect for both women. 

Jazz. One of Trish's best rivals!

My enthusiasm for wrestling grew more as I watched Trish grow as a performer, and entertainer. The unveiling of new moves, her sudden heel turn at WrestlemaniaMania XX really made me a hardcore Stratus fan. This is what I loved about WWE then, the sudden twist in the story that solidified my love for the business. 

One of her many great heel promos.

Trish and Lita were another one of my favorite feuds. Here’s one of my all time favorite matches that still gives me chills to this day, when Trish reverses the DDT, by grabbing hold of the ropes.

Both destined for the WWE Hall of Fame; Trish and Lita

I am grateful for online services like YouTube because I can relive most of my favorite Stratus moments, matches, promos, wins, losses– her  wonderful career. There will never be another Trish Stratus, and I am so glad that I could grow up with her, and watch her grow as an entertainer. Trish Stratus is soon to be in the WWE Hall of Fame!

From your Stratusfaction, to chick kick, spine-buster and MaTrish, I would like to say thank you Trish for entertaining me, making me laugh and cry (when you retired). For the many matches with Lita, and the gracefulness of your being. Thank you!

Thank you Trish, you will forever be my favorite WWE Hero!

Here’s one of my favorite fan-made Trish tributes.

*I could not find the original WWE SmackDown! Shut Your Mouth Photo of Trish Stratus.
** I do not own any of the Photos; there being used as examples. No copyright infringement intended. All rights belong to WWE and respective owners.
**I do not own any of the videos; the are being used as an example. No copyright infringement intended. All rights belong to WWE and respective owners.
Trish Stratus, how I love thee…

One thought on “Trish Stratus, how I love thee…

Put your words below!